The Ohio Expositions Commission was established in 1961 when the Ohio General Assembly passed legislation creating a new governing body for the Ohio Expo Center. Prior to 1961, the State Board of Agriculture oversaw the Center. The Commission maintains and manages state property reserved for the purpose of conducting at least one Fair annually.

The Commission comprises 14 members, (nine of whom are appointed by the Governor), plus five ex-officio members: the Agricultural Chair of the Ohio Senate, the Agricultural and Natural Resources Chair of the Ohio House of Representatives, the Director of Development, the Director of Agriculture and the Director of Natural Resources.

Of the nine Commission members appointed by the Governor, no more than five may be from any one political party. Expiration of appointed terms is staggered to ensure the continuity of the Commission at all times.

2019 members:

Tamara Brown, Ohio Development Services Agency designee, Columbus
Tom Charles, Buckeye Lake

David T. Daniels, Director of the Ohio Department of Agriculture, Hillsboro
Andrew Doehrel, Vice Chair, Galena
Senator Bob Hackett, Senate Agriculture Committee Chair, London

Rep. Brian Hill, House Agriculture and Rural Development Committee Chair, Zanesville
Angela Krile, Lancaster, Secretary
Lizbeth Lafferty, West Union
John R. Page, Lewis Center
Angela Petro, Columbus
Doug Preiss, Columbus
Tom Price
, Delaware
Steve Reinhard, Chair, Bucyrus

James Zehringer, Director of the Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Columbus
Virgil Strickler, General Manager, Galloway

2019 meeting dates:

  • Thursday, January 17
  • Thursday, February 14
  • Thursday, March 7
  • Thursday, April 11
  • Thursday, May 9
  • Thursday, June 13
  • Thursday, July 11 (tentative)
  • Wednesday, July 24
  • Sunday, August 4
  • Thursday, October 17
  • Thursday, November 14
  • Thursday, December 12

To sign up to receive press releases about meeting times and locations, please click here.